You are here:--The Board of Trustees
The Board of Trustees 2018-04-03T12:24:14+00:00

The Board of Trustees

Donaldson Board of Trustees is charged – under the Trust Scheme – to promote and encourage children and young people with additional support needs to realise their potential.

Our Trustees are appointed from the education sector, from social work and business. The board is responsible for appointing The Donaldson Trust’s CEO.

The Board can be contacted via Claire Colvin, Executive Assistant  email:  or  Telephone: 01506 841469

Carol Kirk – Convenor of the Board of Trustees

Carol Kirk has thirty years of experience in education and children’s services, eighteen of these at a senior level in local authorities. As a Corporate Director of Education she implemented a range of strategies leading to measurable improvements in outcomes for young people, including narrowing the socio economic attainment gap. Her work has been characterised by a strong focus on addressing inequalities and community capacity building. Evaluations by both Education Scotland and Care Inspectorate commented on her vision, strong leadership and ability to empower leaders throughout children’s services.

Carol has chaired key national groups for the Scottish Government, including Educational Leadership as part of “Teaching Scotland’s Future” and the National hub on the Education of Looked After Children. Carol was Vice President of the Association of Directors of Education and a COSLA adviser and is a member of the Glasgow Regional Colleges Board.

Carol is currently operating as an educational consultant and in that capacity was recently operating as interim Director of Children and Young People’s Services in Scottish Borders. Carol was also responsible for inclusion and additional support for learning in both Stirling and North Ayrshire and also chaired ADES Inclusion Group for a number of years.

Carol was appointed a Trustee on 12 January 2015 and Convener of the Board of Trustees on 19 May 2015.

The Board of Trustees along with Carol consists of:

  • Brian Baverstock (Convenor of Finance & Audit Committee)
  • Raymond McMaster (Convenor of Human Resource & Organisational Development Committee)
  • Angela Morgan (Convenor of Quality & Practice Improvement Committee)
  • William Rutherglen
  • Neil McKechnie
  • Jack Rillie
  • Michael Boyle
  • Derek O’Sullivan